SWISS FILMS

SWISS FILMS

About SWISS FILMS

The SWISS FILMS Foundation is the promotion agency for Swiss filmmaking. As a partner to Swiss filmmakers, it reinforces the visibility and positive awareness of Swiss filmmaking at home and abroad. The foundation’s primary tasks include distribution, networking and cultural promotion of Swiss filmmaking. SWISS FILMS directs its activities towards film distributors, media professionals, special-interest groups, cultural institutions and sectors of the general public interested in film. The foundation has a performance-based contract with the Federal Office of Culture. Further support is provided by public as well as private funds.

SWISS FILMS is the ambassador for Swiss film productions and assists in creating a distinctive mark for the film productions as regards cultural diversity and regional forms of expression. It offers film directors and producers promotional services and facilitates international distribution of their film productions. The foundation works together with its national and international network and organises retrospectives and film programmes all over the world. It serves as the source and publisher of reliable information on independent Swiss film productions. SWISS FILMS identifies current developments on the film scene and organises its activities accordingly.

The organisation was initiated approximately forty years ago by the film industry. In 2004 the Swiss Film Center joined forces with the film service department of Pro Helvetia, the Swiss Arts Council and the Swiss Short Film Agency to form SWISS FILMS, the film promotion agency. The foundation’s board of trustees is comprised of nine members representing the various stakeholder groups. SWISS FILMS is a non-profit organisation based in Zurich, with an office in Geneva as well.

SWISS FILMS is one of the ten founding members of the European Film Promotion (EFP), the network for European film promotion agencies.

SWISS FILMS

SWISS FILMS

About SWISS FILMS

Die Stiftung SWISS FILMS ist die Promotionsagentur des Schweizer Filmschaffens. Als Partnerin der Filmschaffenden verstärkt sie die Sichtbarkeit und positive Wahrnehmung der helvetischen Filmkultur im Ausland und in der Schweiz. Kernaufgaben der Stiftung sind Verbreitung, kulturelle Vermittlung und Vernetzung des Schweizer Filmschaffens. SWISS FILMS richtet sich an Filmverwertende, Medienschaffende, Interessensgruppen, kulturelle Institutionen und Filminteressierte. Die Stiftung hat eine Leistungsvereinbarung mit dem Bundesamt für Kultur. Sie wird von weiteren öffentlichen und privaten Stellen unterstützt.

SWISS FILMS ist Botschafterin für Schweizer Filme und profiliert diese in ihrer kulturellen Vielfalt und ihren sprachregionalen Ausdrucksformen. Sie bietet Regisseurinnen und Produzenten einen Promotionsservice und fördert den internationalen Vertrieb ihrer Filme. Die Stiftung ist national und international gut vernetzt und organisiert Retrospektiven und Filmreihen in der ganzen Welt. Sie ist Quelle und Herausgeberin von verlässlichen Informationen zu unabhängig produzierten Schweizer Filmen. SWISS FILMS beobachtet aktuelle Entwicklungen in der Filmszene und richtet ihre Aktivitäten entsprechend aus.

Die Organisation ist vor rund vierzig Jahren auf Initiative der Filmbranche entstanden. 2004 schlossen sich das Schweizerische Filmzentrum, der Filmdienst von Pro Helvetia und die Kurzfilm Agentur Schweiz zur gemeinsamen Promotionsagentur SWISS FILMS zusammen. Der neunköpfige Stiftungsrat setzt sich aus Persönlichkeiten der verschiedenen Bezugsgruppen von SWISS FILMS zusammen. SWISS FILMS ist eine Non-Profit-Organisation mit Hauptsitz in Zürich und einer Geschäftsstelle in Genf.

SWISS FILMS ist eines der zehn Gründungsmitglieder der European Film Promotion (EFP), dem Netzwerk der europäischen Filmpromotionsagenturen.