SWISS FILMS

History

The organisation preceding the SWISS FILMS Foundation was initiated approximately forty years ago by the film industry – initially as an association and then as the Swiss Film Center in 1975.
Filmmakers wanted to establish a self-help support organisation with a “film center” that would foster Swiss filmmaking from the production to distribution and international visibility. The federal government assumed responsibility for the promotion of film productions. The tremendous success of Swiss film productions in the 1970s, however, led to new distribution structures for Swiss filmmaking. Consequently, international film promotion became the filmmakers’ pressing concern and the primary task of the Swiss Film Center.

In 2004 the Swiss Film Center joined forces with the film service department of the Swiss Arts Council (Pro Helvetia) – which had been working actively in intermediation and the exchange of the Swiss film culture since 1969 – and the Swiss Short Film Agency founded in 1997, to form SWISS FILMS, the film promotion agency. In 2007 the Swiss Film Center was renamed the SWISS FILMS Foundation. In 2008 the film promotion agency drew up the foundation’s mission statement which defines its the self-image and values.

According to the foundation’s statement of purpose, which has remained unmodified since its inception in 1975, SWISS FILMS supports “Swiss filmmaking and provides services which promote the distribution of Swiss film productions at home and abroad.” (Art. 1 of the statutes)

SWISS FILMS

SWISS FILMS

History

Die Vorgänger-Organisation der Stiftung SWISS FILMS ist vor rund vierzig Jahren auf Initiative der Filmbranche entstanden – zunächst in Form eines Vereins, dann ab 1975 als Stiftung Schweizerisches Filmzentrum.

Die Filmschaffenden wollten mit einem «Filmzentrum» eine Selbsthilfeorganisation aufbauen, welche Schweizer Filme von der Produktion über den Verleih bis hin zur internationalen Wahrnehmung fördert. Die Förderung von Filmproduktionen übernahm der Bund. Mit den Erfolgen der Schweizer Filme in den 1970er-Jahren entstanden neue Verleihstrukturen für das nationale Filmschaffen. Somit wurde die internationale Filmpromotion zum dringlichsten Anliegen der Filmschaffenden und zur Kernaufgabe des Schweizerischen Filmzentrums.

Das Schweizerische Filmzentrum, der Filmdienst von Pro Helvetia – der seit 1969 im Bereich der Vermittlung und des Austauschs der Schweizer Filmkultur tätig war – und die 1997 gegründete Kurzfilm Agentur Schweiz schlossen sich 2004 im Verein SWISS FILMS zu einer gemeinsamen Promotionsagentur zusammen. 2007 wurde die Stiftung Schweizerisches Filmzentrum in Stiftung SWISS FILMS umbenannt. 2008 hat sich die Promotionsagentur ein Leitbild gegeben, welches das Selbstverständnis und die Werte der Stiftung erläutert.

Gemäss seinem seit 1975 unveränderten Stiftungszweck unterstützt SWISS FILMS «das schweizerische Filmschaffen und bietet Dienstleistungen an, welche die Verbreitung von Schweizer Filmen im In- und Ausland fördern.» (Art. 1 der Statuten)