SWISS FILMS

SWISS FILMS

About SWISS FILMS

The SWISS FILMS Foundation is the promotion agency for Swiss filmmaking. As a partner to Swiss filmmakers, it reinforces the visibility and positive awareness of Swiss filmmaking at home and abroad. The foundation’s primary tasks include distribution, networking and cultural promotion of Swiss filmmaking. SWISS FILMS directs its activities towards film distributors, media professionals, special-interest groups, cultural institutions and sectors of the general public interested in film. The foundation has a performance-based contract with the Federal Office of Culture. Further support is provided by public as well as private funds.

SWISS FILMS is the ambassador for Swiss film productions and assists in creating a distinctive mark for the film productions as regards cultural diversity and regional forms of expression. It offers film directors and producers promotional services and facilitates international distribution of their film productions. The foundation works together with its national and international network and organises retrospectives and film programmes all over the world. It serves as the source and publisher of reliable information on independent Swiss film productions. SWISS FILMS identifies current developments on the film scene and organises its activities accordingly.

The organisation was initiated approximately forty years ago by the film industry. In 2004 the Swiss Film Center joined forces with the film service department of Pro Helvetia, the Swiss Arts Council and the Swiss Short Film Agency to form SWISS FILMS, the film promotion agency. The foundation’s board of trustees is comprised of nine members representing the various stakeholder groups. SWISS FILMS is a non-profit organisation based in Zurich, with an office in Geneva as well.

SWISS FILMS is one of the ten founding members of the European Film Promotion (EFP), the network for European film promotion agencies.

SWISS FILMS

About SWISS FILMS

La fondation SWISS FILMS est l’agence de promotion du cinéma suisse. En tant que partenaire des cinéastes, elle renforce la visibilité et la perception positive de la culture cinématographique helvétique en Suisse et à l’étranger. Les missions principales de la fondation sont le rayonnement, le relais culturel et la mise en réseau du cinéma suisse. SWISS FILMS s’adresse aux diffuseurs, aux médias, aux groupes d’intérêt, aux institutions culturelles et au public cinéphile. La fondation a conclu une convention de prestations avec l’Office fédéral de la culture. Elle est soutenue par d’autres entités publiques et privées.

SWISS FILMS est l’ambassadrice du cinéma suisse et met en valeur les films propres à chaque région linguistique en respectant la diversité culturelle. Elle offre aux cinéastes et aux producteurs un service de promotion et soutient la diffusion internationale. La fondation bénéficie d’un réseau sur le plan national et international. Elle organise des rétrospectives et des programmes dans le monde entier. Elle récolte et diffuse des informations fiables concernant la production cinématographique suisse indépendante. SWISS FILMS observe les tendances de la scène cinématographique internationale et oriente ses activités en fonction de ces développements.

L’organisation a été créée il y a environ quarante ans à l’initiative des milieux professionnels. En 2004, le Centre suisse du cinéma, le service cinéma de Pro Helvetia et l’Agence suisse du court métrage se sont regroupés au sein de la nouvelle agence de promotion SWISS FILMS. Le conseil de fondation est composé de neuf personnalités représentatives des différents groupes cibles de l’agence. SWISS FILMS est une organisation sans but lucratif basée à Zurich avec un bureau à Genève.

Règlement de fondation SWISS FILMS

SWISS FILMS est l’un des dix membres fondateurs de European Film Promotion (EFP), le réseau européen des agences de promotion du cinéma.