SWISS FILMS

History

The organisation preceding the SWISS FILMS Foundation was initiated approximately forty years ago by the film industry – initially as an association and then as the Swiss Film Center in 1975.
Filmmakers wanted to establish a self-help support organisation with a “film center” that would foster Swiss filmmaking from the production to distribution and international visibility. The federal government assumed responsibility for the promotion of film productions. The tremendous success of Swiss film productions in the 1970s, however, led to new distribution structures for Swiss filmmaking. Consequently, international film promotion became the filmmakers’ pressing concern and the primary task of the Swiss Film Center.

In 2004 the Swiss Film Center joined forces with the film service department of the Swiss Arts Council (Pro Helvetia) – which had been working actively in intermediation and the exchange of the Swiss film culture since 1969 – and the Swiss Short Film Agency founded in 1997, to form SWISS FILMS, the film promotion agency. In 2007 the Swiss Film Center was renamed the SWISS FILMS Foundation. In 2008 the film promotion agency drew up the foundation’s mission statement which defines its the self-image and values.

According to the foundation’s statement of purpose, which has remained unmodified since its inception in 1975, SWISS FILMS supports “Swiss filmmaking and provides services which promote the distribution of Swiss film productions at home and abroad.” (Art. 1 of the statutes)

SWISS FILMS

History

L’organisation précédant la fondation SWISS FILMS a été créée il y a environ quarante ans à l’initiative des milieux professionnels du cinéma – d’abord sous forme d’une association puis, à partir de 1975, comme fondation Centre suisse du cinéma.

Avec un «centre du cinéma» les cinéastes ambitionnaient de bâtir une organisation d’entraide destinée à promouvoir les films suisses, de la production à la diffusion en passant par la perception internationale. L’encouragement des films a été pris en charge par la Confédération. Avec les succès des films suisses dans les années 1970, de nouvelles structures de distribution sont nées pour le cinéma helvétique. De ce fait, la promotion internationale est devenue un besoin pour les cinéastes et la mission principale du Centre suisse du cinéma.

Le Centre suisse du cinéma, le service cinéma de Pro Helvetia – qui depuis 1969 a déployé ses activités dans le domaine du relais et de l’échange de la culture cinématographique suisse – et l’Agence suisse du court métrage, fondée en 1997, se sont regroupés en 2004 en tant qu’agence de promotion commune dans l’association SWISS FILMS. En 2007, la fondation Centre suisse du cinéma a pris le nom de fondation SWISS FILMS. En 2008, l’agence de promotion s’est dotée d’une charte, qui reflète la propre compréhension et les valeurs de la fondation.

Selon les buts restés inchangés depuis 1975, SWISS FILMS «soutient la création cinématographique suisse et propose des services pour promouvoir les films helvétiques en Suisse et à I'étranger.» (Article 1 des statuts)